PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Middle TN

Smily0
07-17-2023, 08:12 AM
Hey guys. I've perused this site occasionally for years, but finally decided to join recently. I've been shooting shows for many years; like many of you I started off basic hand firing, then moved to timed fuse, and several years ago finally upgraded to Cobra. This was my first year with any 1.4 Pro, and more importantly, my first time shooting 1.3 (in pro shows, not my personal). I was able to apprentice on three shows (one of which I shot) so I can get my state operators license. My packet is sent in, I'm just waiting on them to let me schedule the test. I'm on the fence about obtaining a type 54 or 20, but it's been in the back of my mind for years. I'm looking forward to learning a bit more from this group as I go forward.

displayfireworks1
07-17-2023, 08:29 AM
Many fireworks enthusiast follow the pyrotalk forums and when they are ready they sign up. We welcome all levels of pyrotechnic experienced. Thanks for outlining some of your experience . You are moving along nicely I see you are from Tennessee , I would curious to see what type of state requirements there are and/or required continuing education. Do you happen to have a website link to the requirements?

Smily0
07-17-2023, 08:57 AM
Any discharge of 1.3 fireworks (public or private) requires a permit from the state fire marshall, as does any public display, even if only 1.4/1.4 pro. Public display is the key word; local churches and fire departments putting on advertised shows with only 1.4 is technically illegal without a permit, but a private show on my farm that is not publicly advertised with 1.4 only is just fine.