View Full Version : New To Group: Thank you!

Derek Ertel
02-13-2023, 03:59 PM
Hi All,

I am new to the group and recently purchased a Cobra Firing System. I live in Pennsylvania and have enjoyed fireworks since I was little, and have put on my own shows over the past 20+ years. I am new to using a firing system and have been learning as much as I can watching videos and etc, but I have always enjoyed a more hands on approach. I am lucky to have a large property to test on and will be heading there this weekend to run some tests. I want to test by doing a "dry fire", as in have no cakes attached to the igniters, to test and make sure I can set up a "fake show" as you will. I know the cost of igniters is not cheap, but I feel as though this would be the best way for me to get a hang of the system. Maybe attach some small safety firecrackers to the end as a warning that it went. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I have always glued my shows to boards and manually fused, and am excited for this new journey.

I have recently, more so than in the past have, been requested to do shows for friends and some business establishments, so I am also looking to venture into my dream job. At this time, I only use 1.4G, but it seems to work for the people I am working with, and never have complaints. With the new laws in place in PA, I believe I will be able to do more of these shows, and would love to make a living out of it. It does seems as though insurance would be needed as well as other safety measures and anyones insight into this would be greatly appreciated. Shows I did in the past were on private property, and I had owners get their own insurance as well as sign waivers I had drafted up from a lawyer. I know all the laws and have never had an incident, but want to be safe and protect my interests as well.