PDA

View Full Version : Timing My Canister Shells

JohnJr88
01-29-2023, 12:06 AM
So this is my first year using the Ignite Firing System (or any automated firing system for that matter) and I am trying to time everything up to music. I need my consumer artillery shells to fire the lift charge at certain times (i.e. during AC/DC's Thunderstruck...... THUN-DER...... na na na na na na na na.....THUN-DER).

Do I cut the fuses on my canisters so my igniter closer to the lift charge? Do I set the pre-fire to a certain amount of time (i have it set to 3s now but I don't think that's enough for a canister shell out of the box)? Both?

I hope I'm making sense. I just want the crowd to hear the THUN-DER of the lift charge at the right time and I am having a tough time figuring this out.

Any help/thoughts are much appreciated.

Birdman
01-29-2023, 01:36 AM
Use a pyro poke and poke into the bottom of the shell. Insert the MJG into the lift charge. Cover with tape. You will have instant ignition of the lift charge. I suggest keeping the fuse on so it's easier to insert the shell into the tube and so you can hand light the fuse if it doesn't fire. You need to make sure you tie off the wire to something so it doesn't have any opportunity to take your mod with it.

Here's Dave's method:

https://youtu.be/TZthkPvKrDY

I just poke the bottom and put the MJG in shroud and all.

JohnJr88
01-29-2023, 06:43 PM
Brilliant idea! Thanks!!!

Engineer Cat
01-30-2023, 12:19 AM
What cans are you shooting?

Indypyrodude
01-30-2023, 03:10 AM
John, birdman is correct. Depending on the shell I will make slit between the base cap and the shell insert a shrouded MJG match and tape off. Yes be sure to secure the match to the rack. The shell can take the module with it. Happy shooting

Scotty Rockets
01-30-2023, 09:19 AM