PDA

View Full Version : 1.75 shells

bjmac
01-06-2023, 02:50 PM
Hey all. I'm new to this making fireworks thing. I've made bp so far and it seems pretty quick. I'm going to in the next few months be ordering a 1.75" shell kit to start learning. I plan on using the d1 in the kit, granite stars, chrys 6, and possibly the rubber star kit. I'm pretty much going to be following the websites info and "Mr. G's videos. My question is star size and burn time. I'm thinking I should do 1/8" or so stars? If I do they won't last too long in the sky. My question is will I need a stronger break charge than standard bp? My thinking is the faster and further they go the more effect with the short burn time.
Any advice or thoughts would help me out.

PyroJoeNEPA
01-06-2023, 06:59 PM
You can use up to & including 1/4" stars in a 1.75" shell with good results. Naturally, the larger the stars, the less you can fit into a 1.75" hemi.
A good hot black powder [granulated fine--around a FFFA will break your shells quite well. Most Chinese manufactured shells only use BP--not coated rice hulls in the smaller shells.
Rubber stars are very easy to make and offer a lot of color variations by mixing the formula up. Use a good BP prime for them.
For the other stars, look up Monocopa Prime for them. I use it on almost everything.
Good luck & be patient with your mixes...it takes a while to get the hang of it. Dyring time is very important.
Breaking them too hard will cause the stars to "blow blind"--i.e. spread out from the shell before they are ignited.
***What part of PA are you in? We have a couple great clubs here in PA.

bjmac
01-06-2023, 09:12 PM
Wow, I would have never thought i could go to 1/4" stars. I figured they would burn to the ground. Awesome. (Never made stars or obviously tested.) Would the coated rice hulls be better? I ordered them years ago when I went through the "bug".
Can you cut the rubber stars? I don't want to do the other methods just yet.