PDA

View Full Version : 2022 First Show Ever

PG2159
07-07-2022, 09:31 AM
Self taught pyo enthusiast here. I had been helping set up a 1.3 show for several years and since COVID it never returned, and it was feeling a bit of a whole about it. So I decided to try and start something in my neighborhood. Had about 60 people come and just us for the fun. There is a large retention pond across the street from my house, I used google maps to ensure appropriate distance from roadway and houses

I was fortunate to capture a whole sale contact around my area, which i think saved me a ton. The 12-cue system was another recommendation i ate up.

I built 5 cake boards, with fast fuse connecting the last tube on a cake to the next cake, poked them all. Some where tied in together for multiple cakes at a time, created some 15 degree angle boards for 200gm cakes. I created 3 home-made fan slices following methods of "myfireworksdemo" on youtube. The handy work of that is the first 50 shot arraignment in the video. I had 100 total motar tubes, 50 rack finale, 20 "V" and 30 "W". Everything was fused, glued and ready to go a week before the show ( MJG initiators added on the morning off, but had been poked, covered with Daves sticky tape and marked for rapid placement). I had to maximized my free time to allow for house/party/food preparations prior to the show, smoking 50lbs of BBQ takes up a good bit of my time.

It was really important to me to be able to incorporate the kids who were in attendance at the show to be able to hit the remote, which did result in some black sky during the show, but it was entirely worth it and the kids, mine included were awestruck by it.

I was thrilled with how this turned out. I took away a ton of learning pearls and hope to continue to improve my technique for next year. this forum has been wonderful for research and watching other enthusiasts shows for inspiration. I'm sure I will have more questions as the manifest.