PDA

View Full Version : Cobra DMX Lights easy start - Rookies

PyroFL
05-02-2022, 04:18 PM
I am a rookie when it comes to DMX and I didnt find the information on how to build colors or do effects like strobe on cobras website so I hope this helps someone out here if your looking to add lights to your next show.

First thing you will need to do is make a line in CSC to tell it your going to be working with DMX lights on your show. This one event is just to tell it what brightness you would like your lights at.

For each DMX event in your timeline you will need to use ALT+D to create a new event.

Here is what you will need to start, telling CSC you are going to use DMX lights:

Event Time: I just started at 10 sec
Universe: Whatever universe you have setup on your Module for your lights
Channel: 1 (this tells your module your about to send the light level of brightness it will need to be on)
Cue/Value: 1-255 (this will be your brightness level)
Event Description: I labeled it "DMX Lights On"
Duration: Blank
Pre-fire: 0
Lift Time: 0
Pulse Time: 0 (If you dont use zero nothing will work)

From there your ready to start scripting your DMX lights for your show.

Now for each color you will need to find the RGB color mix (code) for each color your looking to use if your looking to use more then just Red, Blue or Green. I found a great website, no need to pay for a app:

https://tools.picsart.com/color/picker Also works great on your phone with a shortcut saved to your home screen

When you find your color your looking to use you will have to enter all 3 RGB color event with all having the same time and duration. Using RGB here are the codes for each color you will build off of

2= Red
3= Green
4 = Blue

Sample to make RGB color Yellow

Event Time: 1:00
Channel: 2 (Red)
Cue/Value: 255
Event Description:"Yellow DMX Light"
Pulse Time: 5s

Add another event same as above with new color and color brightness to make the mix

Channel: 3 (Green)
Cue/Value: 255

Then add one more