PDA

View Full Version : "Transfer Control of 1.3"

joewad
03-27-2022, 03:00 PM
Sorry for the generic subject, I'm sure proper terminology exists so I'll try to explain situation.
I am a FEL hobbyist shooter that has always operated under contingency storage. I've recently made acquaintance with another 1.3 shooting hobbyist in close proximity. We have discussed and have decided to mix our efforts together. He has also recently located an approved ATF storage structure upon his property. I would like to use his magazine for storage until shoot date. I was thinking that I could add his signature, FEL number, magazine number, etc. upon my purchases, have him sign something to the effect that items were given to him, for his storage on same date I picked items up. Keep a copy for my records. Also maintain a copy of his FEL and magazine structure. My guess, there might be another, more ATF approved form for this type of action. Again, we are both hobbyists and shoot for personal pleasure only. Any ATF form number/information or possibly attachment would be appreciated.

displayfireworks1
03-27-2022, 06:21 PM
If I am reading this correct, when you change your contingency you need to notify the ATF of the change in your original contingency plan. There are hobbyist sharing a magazine. I will defer that answer to anyone that is doing something similar and can answer. If you go forward on this and tell the ATF, be ready for a site visit. Thus, be sure everything is order before you notify them.

Arclight
03-28-2022, 01:13 PM
I would think this is "adding a second contingency option" and he doesn't have to do anything with the supplier. So you would:

1. Buy product as usual.
2. Shoot it or check it in to your friend's magazine. Keep your own record sheet of where you checked in product and the date/quantity. Make sure you do a yearly inventory and make a record of that too.