PDA

View Full Version : Granulating black powder

Troy.Musillami
10-03-2021, 06:33 PM
I'm pretty new to making fireworks, so I'm at a loss and could use some advice. Google hasn't been much help or I'm not googling the right thing.

I've been having issues granulating. I don't know if I'm doing something wrong, or if I'm missing a step in the process. I mill for 4 hours minimum (it usually ends up being 4-1/2). The black powder coming out looks like airfloat charcoal, so I don't think my issue has to do with mill time, though I could be wrong. All my chemicals are from skylighter and I've been following the instructions on their website.

I do have well water and we use a water softener. I don't know if that could be an issue, but I had a lightbulb moment writing this and I'll have to pick up some distilled water next time I'm out to try as well.

Anyways, I've made several batches of black powder. When I granulate I only use enough liquid to pack my powder into a shiny ball. If I squeeze it, excess liquid doesn't seep out, but its also not dry if that makes sense.

My very first batch I didn't use dextrin. I mixed 75/15/10 and then used 70% isopropyl alcohol and granulated it. It worked great in terms of performance, but there was no binder so I had to be very delicate with it.

In recent batches I've used the same 75/15/10 recipe with variations of 1-3% dextrin by weight. I've tried using cold, warm and hot water, but my granules don't hold their shape. The moment I touch them they turn to powder.

I've also tried the same 75/15/10 recipe with variations of 1-3% redgum diluted in denatured alcohol and my results have been the same.

Hopefully I've including everything relevant without rambling too much. Thanks in advance.

chris v
06-07-2022, 08:42 AM