PDA

View Full Version : 90% sulfur? Newbie here

SemperFish
06-28-2021, 06:40 AM
A readily available and cheap source of sulfur for me is Fungicide/insecticide sulfur dust at the blue and the orange big hardware stores.
HOWEVER: it is 90% pure with 10% "inert" ingredients. Presumably anti-caking agents.
Should I compensate for the lower purity by increasing the amount I might add to a recipe? Or am I being too "gnats azz" about it?
Thanks

Arles
06-28-2021, 09:02 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mGfBEnBw01A

SemperFish
06-28-2021, 05:37 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mGfBEnBw01A
OK....bad idea....no explanation? Just a link to a video that says "bad idea" a hundred times?
WHY is it a bad idea?

displayfireworks1
06-28-2021, 06:42 PM
At SemperFish. If my memory serves me correctly you told us you are 61 years old. Don't buy Walmart chemicals to make fireworks. While I would like to see more making fireworks activity here on pyrotalk forums, we can not do a ground up education on making fireworks. I suggest you join a site run by a person experienced in making fireworks. He runs a website that does not cost much to join. Here is link.
https://fireworking.com/

You also need to commit a budget to the hobby.

Okimarine
06-28-2021, 08:01 PM
In black powder the purity of each ingredient will directly reflect how fast the powder burns. If you have the best homemade charcoal (type of wood makes a difference), 99.something % pure potassium nitate, my guess is that your 90% it would still burn fine but not as fast as most enthusiasts prefer. If you use lower quality on all ingredients, it may still burn but the performance would be greatly degraded and unusable in fireworks production.