PDA

View Full Version : Ramming Clay Nozzles

GrayKat58
12-02-2020, 11:12 AM
Looking for a little advice on clay nozzle forming.

I'm basically a beginner/hobbyist, working on a small scale for my own enjoyment. I started out casting nozzles for rockets and gerbs using water putty. It produces a nice result, but takes a lot of time and effort. I got some cheapo Wally World kitty litter and processed it down to the consistency of fine sand. I have used this mix for making solid bulkheads and it's worked perfectly. However, I was never really happy with the way they came out when drilling out the hole when forming a nozzle. I turned some aluminum tooling on my lathe to fit in a 1" ID rocket tube (5/16" aperture). The issue I'm having is that when I remove the tube from the tool, the clay at the very end just drops out, leaving a rough surface that's a bit shorter than the intended length. The remainder of the bore is just fine and hard as a rock. I've tried a couple tool variations, adding the nozzle clay in increments, adding paraffin, always the same result.

Anyone with experience in this area? My thinking now is that I need a different type of clay mixture.

Thanks!

IndianaPH
12-02-2020, 04:54 PM
GrayKat58-

Let me start this off by saying that, until recently, I have no experience in making fireworks. But, I recently attended a club event and participated in a seminar that showed us how to make gerbs. It was the first time I had ever built anything. I do remember that there was a specific cat litter that was used in the nozzle material and it had graphite added to it.

If you haven't already, you should look at joining fireworking.com Ned's site has a lot of useful information. If you go to the Fireworking 101 tab, I believe lesson #13 is Making Gerbs.

PyroJoeNEPA
12-02-2020, 07:29 PM
Try adding a small amount of mineral oil or Vaseline to it.