PDA

View Full Version : ATF purchase records??

JoeyV.
11-12-2020, 10:41 AM
Hi all,

Anyone have an example of how to keep a good ATF binder for a type 54 permit? I don?t have storage so it?s basic I?m looking for like a spreadsheet to fill out.
Thanks!!

BMoore
11-12-2020, 11:41 AM
The attachment is an example acquisition records sheet from the ATF. Many distributors also provide you with this information. If that's the case you can just keep what the distributor gives you and that will suffice. I keep two folders. One with the acquisition records which the ATF will review and another "Permanent File" where I keep copies of my my license, contigency agreement, e-mail correspondence, copies of application, permits, etc.

http://www.pyrotalk.com/bulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=5319&stc=1

Bitzan
11-12-2020, 05:42 PM
So this is probably more of a question for the more experienced rather than an answer but...My belief (and I am a complete novice) is that keeping your records on a spreadsheet would NOT be acceptable. You would first need to "submit a letter application to ATF describing the proposed alternate records and the need for them" but most importantly the computer system you use must comply with
From ATF Rul. 2007-1...
"1. All data entered into the computer system must be recorded into the database and
cannot be capable of being edited or modified at a later date. The software system
must retain any correction of errors as an entirely new entry, without deleting or
modifying the original entry. The system may allow for entries in a notes column
to explain any correction."

Excel (or any other spreadsheet program) would not meet this requirement.

Once again - I am not experienced - I just recently went through the process, wanted to use Excel, and recalled deciding I could not. I hope others will comment.

BMoore
11-12-2020, 06:03 PM