PDA

View Full Version : My ATF 54 Experience

Bitzan
11-04-2020, 01:16 PM
Hey gang just thought I would share. Overall the experience was painless and smooth. Note that I am located in Cleveland, Ohio - "your mileage may vary".

Timeline:

9/11/2020 Submitted application and check
10/28/2020 ATF Interview (phone call)
11/4/2020 Permit Arrived

Lessons Learned:
The Application... While I assume there is an attempt at standardization across the country we need to accept that every inspector (and their manager) is a human being and may have a slightly unique perspective on how to properly complete the application. Here are the changes I was asked to make to my application:

#2 Trade Name: I had re-entered my name from Box1. ATF investigator asked me to leave it blank since I was an individual hobbyist and not a business.

#8 Are you presently engaged in a business and/or operations for which a license or permit is required under 18 U.S.C., Chapter 40, Explosives: I had entered yes with a date. Investigator asked me to enter ?No? since in her opinion if I was already engaged in a business that required a permit, and I did not have one, I was being "illegal".

#16 Hours of operation. I had not entered AM/PM so she asked me to enter.

Letter of Contingency: The letter of contingency that was sent to me by Kellner's (huge thank you to Kellner's) did not included my name but rather stated "all Kellner customers are allowed to temporarily store at our facilities (free of charge) products purchased from us". The ATF inspector required my name to be added on the letter of contingency.