PDA

View Full Version : Ohio Challenges

Bitzan
09-02-2020, 02:56 PM
Friends,

Well the devil is always in the details and as I am new to the fireworks bug I am getting a chance to chat with the devil regularly!
I am about to state what most of you already know but I state it to give you the opportunity to correct me... What do I have wrong? What have I missed?

To shoot fireworks in Ohio of any kind (1.1, 1.3, 1.4) you:

Must be an Ohio licensed fireworks exhibitor
Must file for and acquire an exhibition permit
Must purchase fireworks from an Ohio licensed wholesaler, manufacturer,or out-of-state shipper
Must carry a minimum $1million insurance policy

In order to store fireworks in Ohio I must be a licensed wholesalers or manufacturer (Citizen or Exhibitor is not sufficient). This applies to both 1.3 and 1.4. Obviously 1.3 storage would require the additional ATF magazine qualifications.

Should I decide to become a licensed exhibitor I must

apply with the Bureau of Testing and Registration (T&R)
pass an exam
complete a background check
submit a letter of proficiency in the handling and discharging of fireworks from an Ohio licensed exhibitor or possess a certified copy of a fireworks license from another state.

And then I still need to buy the insurance policy

Hmmmm...

snickels
09-02-2020, 05:46 PM