PDA

View Full Version : Sabots on artillery shells

Jordan0885
07-19-2020, 04:47 PM
Now I'm no professional, and I've never made any fireworks other than ill advised things when I was younger, but I like to read and watch videos about all sorts of things just to have a better understanding of how things work and the idea popped into my head about artillery shells while watching videos of people making them. If you put a sabot on them, say some kind of foam that's already split in half, you would gain height from the normal lift charge, or be able to use less lift to achieve the same height. Just wondering what some real builders think about it. I know it's probably not feasible as the cost of less lift probably wouldn't make up for the cost in time/money to make them, and it'd probably make a helluva mess. Just want to hear you all's thoughts.

PyroJoeNEPA
07-19-2020, 05:56 PM
I don't see where anything would be gained. Shells tumble when shot out of a tube---a good example is to watch some of the you tube videos of the large "salami's" shot in Italy and Malta. You can see them tumble when they get in the air. Also, a ball shell spins---this can be seen if you look at the tail when they are fired.
Typical 1.4g canisters do not have "rising tails" on them, but I have glued some on to see what they do----they spin!
Rockets, on the other hand have a nose cone [1.4g stuff] to aid in keeping them straight. Doesn't do anything for trajectory, but does help with aerodynamics.
Interesting question you brought up.

Rosko2
07-20-2020, 10:44 AM