PDA

View Full Version : Hi from NH!

Jbellen
07-13-2020, 10:21 AM
Greetings everyone. I am a fireworks hobbyist from Milton, NH. I have used many consumer products over the years and this year for the 4th I decided to up my game for the family with all of the COVID restrictions and professional shows being cancelled. I was able to put on a small but decent show for the family and a couple neighbors in a secluded private development. This year I purchased an inexpensive firing system to get my feet wet with that. This year the pyrotechnics bug really got me. I've already started to build a few racks for consumer shells and have started planning a new years show to try some stuff out.

I have been a firefighter since 2006 and it was always the highlight of the year when we got to do fireworks standbys and interacting with the professional shooters. I was even lucky enough to attend a class put on by a local display company in conjunction with our Fire Marshals office on fireworks safety and inspection. We got to see some intentional failures of shells, flowerpots, and got to hand fire a couple shells.

I just ordered the BATFE 54 license videos from Dave. I'm looking to get licensed to up my home fireworks game for next years celebrations. My challenge I think is going to be a contingency storage plan where I am located.

Is there anyone else from NH on here that knows the ins and outs of how to become a licensed shooter in NH and navigate the Fire Marshals Office requirements?

PyroGyro
07-13-2020, 02:56 PM
Welcome to the Forum. I am from the NH area and shoot 1.4 regularly. I also have crewed on 1.3 shows and know a couple of licensed shooters with Type 54s. IMO, unless you plan on shooting 1.3 shows regularly and are ok with the criteria below I would not recommend getting your type 54. Here's why: