PDA

View Full Version : Average lift time for 60g cans?

Birdman
06-10-2020, 01:25 PM
I know this must be posted out there somewhere but I just can't seem to find it. I know it won't be exact because every shell could be slightly different....but what should I estimate for the lift time of the typical 60g canister shell? Looks to be in the 2-3 second range from the time the lift charge fires until they break. Anybody have an average time they use?

As of right now the plan is to replace the green visco with fast fuse. If I account for fuse burn rate in my lift time (using CSC BTW), I'm thinking 3 seconds might be the closest...thoughts?

tonyr
06-10-2020, 02:23 PM
I would say 2 seconds from lift charge firing to break but total time will be dependent upon your fusing and obviously the shells so really just comes down to the burn rate of your replacement fuse. Good estimate IMO. I am just an amateur though so take my words with a grain of salt.

Jay_
06-10-2020, 05:19 PM
1.8 is what I use, but that’s poked not fused.

To be completely honest, if you are requiring precise timing...you are just not going to get there with fuse.

Speaking from lots of trial and error experience here.

Birdman
06-10-2020, 06:18 PM
Thanks for the responses. I don't expect precision but something relatively close and from there hope to get lucky. Next year I will be using 1.4g Pro single shot tubes where I want it to hit at just the right time. Maybe I'll poke and go with the 1.8s lift time instead. I have to admit that poking a can makes me a little nervous.

PyroKing31
06-10-2020, 07:11 PM
Thanks for the responses. I don't expect precision but something relatively close and from there hope to get lucky. Next year I will be using 1.4g Pro single shot tubes where I want it to hit at just the right time. Maybe I'll poke and go with the 1.8s lift time instead. I have to admit that poking a can makes me a little nervous.