PDA

View Full Version : Video camera recommendations

N.E. Pyrotechnics
05-15-2020, 08:24 AM
I hope I'm not starting a thread that already exists. I did a search, and there were no results, so here we go...
As I'm prepping for my first "show" I am thinking about all of the videos that I've enjoyed watching. Until now we have been satisfied with cell phone video, but we have decided to get a video camera for several reasons.
I am a hobbyist photographer so I have a good understanding of still cameras and their nomenclature, but no real video experience. So I have 2 questions for the forum....

1) Can you recommend a solid video camera somewhere around or up to about a $500 price point?

We're not looking for all the bells and whistles in this camera. Something with at least water resistance, doesn't have to waterproof, and not something terribly delicate. And although it is a pretty common feature, it must have a body that will accept a tripod.

2) For those of you that have made videos... Do you have any "settings" suggestions for capturing good quality videos? I'm speaking of in camera settings that would optimize fireworks video.

One more question....

When making your videos, what has the best audio results? Are you relying on the built in microphone, or do you recommend external microphones?

Thanks in advance.

krayg
05-15-2020, 11:52 AM
I'm not an expert but here are some things that may help you with video settings. I used these over NYE and it produced fairly good results.

Set ISO higher than 800 to as high as you can go without a lot of noise
Set shutter to 1 / (2 x frames_per_sec)
Depending on distance, you might need a wide angle lens. I can tell you that 50mm from 50 yards away doesn't work. :rolleyes:
Set the aperture to be fairly wide open
Manual/Auto-focus depends on what you're trying to capture
Use a tripod