PDA

View Full Version : 3in and 4in rack building

Tgwinn
01-15-2020, 11:02 AM
I'm starting the process of building 3 inch an 4 inch racks with HDPE tubing. Does anyone have some blueprints on building safe racks? Any tips or ideas would be appreciated.

displayfireworks1
01-15-2020, 07:24 PM
I'm not sure how many you are going to build. My suggestion is that once you decide what size and tube quantity you go with, make them all exactly the same. For example all 3 inch ones are 10 tubes and x number of inches etc. This way when you make your finale and place them close to each other you can make a tight box on all sides. I am not an expert on this and I have seen a lot of variations. I always liked the Zambelli setup. It all equals 10 from 4 inch up. The 4 inch pipe is a rack of 6. Hence 4 plus 6 =10. The five inch pipe is a rack of 5. The six inch pipe is a rack of 4. For the 3 inch pipe, I have seen more racks of 10 pipes and rarely see a 12 pipe of 3 inch. Places spacers between each mortar if you can.
Maybe someone has some standard dimensions they can post to help you along

Tgwinn
01-15-2020, 11:33 PM
I'm all about simplicity. Im probably going to hold off on the 4in racks til next year. Planned on 3in rack of 10. After the first rack was made, I planned on cutting all the lumber to length and attaching A to B. B to C and so on. I've watched alot of your videos and the box makes most sense!
Just trying to feel out some DOs and DONTs on the build.

joewad
01-16-2020, 12:15 AM
3 inch HDPE are the easiest. You do not have to "rip" your base or end rails. A 3 inch hdpe fits exactly within a standard 2x4. Other questions to ask your self, are you going to handlight as individual shells or e-fire each (A standard case of 3 inch is normally 72. Will you be using pre-made finale strings which, in 3 inch, usually consists of 60 shells or 6 strings of 10.