PDA

View Full Version : Confession Time

Rick_In_Tampa
07-07-2019, 08:30 PM
So I need to come clean and tell on myself. Ever since I started shooting shows I've been using milk crate mortar racks. I know they are a bone of contention in these threads, and up till now I've been a proponent of using them.

Well this year I had a scare. After the show like a good pyro I walked through the display area and checked for unfired effects. When I got to my mortar crates I noticed a few tubes missing from one of the crates. That was odd I thought. I know the crate was fully loaded with 25 DR-11 tubes when I prepped it. So I picked up the crate thinking it must be compromised somewhere. Nope. Fully intact. Just missing 2 tubes. So the search was on.

The first tube was found about 10 feet away. The second tube was found almost 50' away!! Both tubes were fully intact. Somehow, both tubes were simply ejected out of the crate, thankfully, after their mortars were fired.

So now I have to think about what could have caused this, and wonder if I should use them next year. Suddenly I don't have the trust I once had in using them. That scares me.

Kooooou
07-07-2019, 08:41 PM
This year I had a heavy Whacky Tobacky hopping 3" off the ground on every third launch blast. I'd imagine your tubes that got flung outta the crate went through some similar energy transfer, but 50' is insane. Glad to hear there were no mishaps as a result.

Rick_In_Tampa
07-07-2019, 08:44 PM
Likewise my friend. Likewise.

robdog
07-07-2019, 08:52 PM
Rick, what I do is use heavy duty ty wraps around the part of the mortar tubes that stick up above the milk crate. This cinches them all together and holds them in place.

PYRODAN
07-07-2019, 08:52 PM
Hey Rick, isn't your neighbor a master carpenter?

Pyro Paul
07-07-2019, 09:08 PM
Lord I hope so, cause Rick could sure use some help when it comes to carpentry work.

PYRODAN
07-07-2019, 09:22 PM
LOL! Paul said that! Not me!4241

morrison2951
07-07-2019, 09:30 PM