PDA

View Full Version : Black powder issues

Brady224
04-28-2019, 03:54 PM
Hello everyone I am a beginner firework enthusiast Im having serious issues with my black powder I need some advice. I started out granulating my black powder made a 10 ounce batch and it worked great. I thought I had it down and made about 4 pounds (bad idea) I ball milled the 4 pounds in separate 10 ounce batches for 7 hours then granulated it all as a big batch. I let it dry in front of a fan for 48 hours. I test this powder by launching a baseball 10% of the balls weight maybe launched it 50 feet instead of 300-400 feet like it did previously. Im a little upset at this point so I thought maybe it needed to dry longer so I regranulate a 10 ounce batch out of the 4 pounds and let this dry for a few days same result. I condemn this black powder and set it aside for waste. I order some rice hulls and try this method. I now only make 10 ounce batches so I made a 10 ounce batch ball mill it for 7 hours and then coat the rice hulls 7-1 bp to rice hulls I follow a method I read somewhere four of the five coatings use dextrin the last don't use dextrin I do this and then let it dry for two days. I test this bp and it works amazing im very happy at this point. I make another 10 ounce batch follow all the same steps and this bp is garbage again very frustrated. I condemn this bp make another 10 ounce batch and same garbage bp. What could I be doing wrong between each batch I am following the same steps same batch of chemicals. If I cant figure this out how is commercial grade bp the fg stuff?

Thanks for the help,

Brady

Kenny East
06-09-2019, 04:54 AM
If all chemicals are the same, and your process is the same... And the results are different. Probably environmental, humidity plays a role in how nitrates and other oxidizers break down.