PDA

View Full Version : Serious question regarding fireworks legality

pyrosamm
10-19-2018, 03:27 AM
I have lived my 46 years of life so far in California. Of those 46 years i have been a pyro for 32 years. Ive been making my own fireworks for 20 years. All while living in California. Well i have recently made the decision to get the hell out of here and reside in a fireworks friendly state. This requires me to do about 4 days of research only to find that theres no real way of determining if fireworks are legal and or when they can be discharged for hardly any states, counties, or cities. I of course know all about the individual state laws posted on APA's site, but have no interest in those because well half of them are inaccurate. I could care less about what state laws say on fireworks unless it says that they are 100% illegal. So screw the states rules i have realized that fireworks laws can be broken down to four groups. State law, county ordinance, city or "town" rules and Indian reservations. In my opinion there is no need for such levels of laws when the truth is there is only one set of laws that actually determines if your in trouble for fireworks fun. The one set of laws is your own municipality "city" you live in or that you want to shoot fireworks in. Yes with local cities having jurisdiction over fireworks in their town, that is the set of laws you should be focused on. Who cares about state and county laws when its your cities rules that determine whether your going to jail or not. Ever since joining PGI 15+ years ago I have always regarded states like Wyoming, New mexico, the Dakotas, and Missouri as being states with the most firework friendly laws, well i was wrong!