PDA

View Full Version : Racks vs. Firing System - Which to get first

BMoore
09-26-2018, 10:51 AM
So, I'm starting to budget for 2019 and of course I want to spend most of that budget on product rather than equipment. Since I'm relatively new to 1.3 I have a lot of 1.75" consumer racks but nothing larger. So, what to do? I either want to acquire some racks this season OR invest in a firing system. Which does everyone recommend? I know there is no right answer but I'm kind of torn on this.

Another factor to keep in mind is that I'm most likely going to have to buy completed racks which drives up the cost dramatically. I have a severe sawdust allergy and simply can't saw wood! So, I'm looking at probably about $75/rack, minimum of 7 racks to cover a case of 72 shells. So at the end of the day the cost of racks vs. firing system is probably pretty comparable.

Any opinions?

MtnViewPyro
09-26-2018, 11:48 AM
Any chance you could find a fellow Pyro or someone with a shop and work out something to get them to build your racks? If you lived by me, I would build you the racks if you supplied the wood and maybe a few 1.4 products thrown in for my time. I’m sure another pyro would do the same.

CMiller
09-26-2018, 12:16 PM
Buy the system first, you can fire anything 1.3 and 1.4. Use 1.3 cakes this year, lots and lots of choices. That way you can shoot 1.3 and have your system! Next year work on your racks.

cptnding
09-26-2018, 10:55 PM
I would have to agree with CMiller. A firing system will do a lot more than racks.

Rick_In_Tampa
09-27-2018, 01:34 AM
Firing system for sure.

Mattp
09-27-2018, 06:27 AM
Yes, while i love mountainviews generosity... id have to agree with getting a firing systrm.. plenty of 1.3 cakes out there.. maybe you could get a firing system and one 3" rack.. some places will sell shells by the piece .. but the whole experience will be much better.. and safer with a firing system

PyroJoeNEPA
09-27-2018, 02:53 PM
Agree--get your firing system first.