PDA

View Full Version : Gasoline mortars

cherrybomb1
09-12-2018, 08:01 PM
Does anyone have any experience with gasoline mortar building?.I can get some 6in stainless pipe from work but was wondering the length I should cut it.Thanks for any help!

cptnding
09-12-2018, 09:09 PM
I'm no expert but know enough to be dangerous lol.
That's a complicated question to answer. It really depends on how much volume you want it to hold to produce the fireball you're looking for. A 36" mortar should hold 4 gallons with enough room left at the top (you need this unless you don't mind fire on the ground). I have a couple of 6" x 20" ones that hold about 2 gallons. And then you get into the size of the lift, type of bp for the lift, and water or no water in the mortar. Lots of opinions out there.

cherrybomb1
09-14-2018, 05:29 AM
I got a couple 6”x20” gas mines built at work last night,a shout out to cptnding for his pm he sent me that gave me all the info I needed.Thanks!http://www.pyrotalk.com/bulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=3142&stc=1http://www.pyrotalk.com/bulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=3143&stc=1

Crush630
09-14-2018, 11:17 AM
Good bead line. That Johnson outboard run?

Pyro Dave
09-14-2018, 02:17 PM
I put 2 holes in my base plates. That way I can stake them down if it's on a slight hill. Also depending how thick your base plate is it probaly wont stay flat for very long, alot of downward pressure is pushed on the center of the plate to lift the fuel from the tube. Eventually the corners start to bend upwards.
If you have never shot these before I strongly recommend having someone teach you and to practice with plenty of distance and safety in mind. I also always let the FD know they will be shot and roughly when in a show. Otherwise you might cause them to panic, once they go into emergency mode good luck stopping them before your entire show is hosed down.

cherrybomb1
09-15-2018, 04:46 AM
Good bead line. That Johnson outboard run?