PDA

View Full Version : Battery Replacement for Firing System Question

jayhawker
06-09-2018, 03:21 PM
Hi all,

I have been using an electronic firing system for a few years now. I use a chinese import system and I add a few more cues each year. Last year I used a fresh set of AA batteries in each module, then immediately took them out and have been storing them in a cool closet all year long. After how many shows/firings does everyone replace the batteries in their systems? If it is enough to light up the LEDs for connectivity is it enough for firing? Or will there be a point where it has enough power to run the LEDs and look fine, but then fail to fire in a show. I am trying to avoid that scenario, but replacing all of the batteries each year will not be fun or cheap (up to around 100 cues total this year).

TLDR: How many shows before I need new batteries in my chinese import firing system?

Thanks a bunch!

Mattp
06-09-2018, 08:21 PM
Personally.. i wouldnt take that chance.. i use those used batteries throughout the year for other stuff.. and put fresh in the modules.. would suck to have eveythkng all setup.. all that hard work.. then to have it not work.. and not have replacement batteries on hand.. in the dark... costo has 40 duracell for 15$.. if you get a cheaper brand .. can get 70 for 20$... for 1 use the cheapest ones are fine .. amazon has really good cheap ones too... but i do understand.. AA is another added cost to the whole thing.. but personally.i feel. it is what it is.. . And needs to be done... i have also used the same batteries 4x last year within a month.. then used them for other stuff throughout the year

fatcat
06-09-2018, 09:48 PM
Gottta agree with Mattp. When you absolutely,positivealy have to have it USE NEW BATTERIES!!! The old ones can be used in other devices. Why risk a show for 15 -20 bucks in batteries? Just my 2 cents. BTW looks like you are new to the sight, welcome aboard

Jay_
06-09-2018, 09:52 PM