PDA

View Full Version : Import Firing System - cover modules?

jbened02
05-23-2018, 10:34 AM
This is my first year using a firing system, starting with an import system using six modules. While they won’t be directly next to the cakes and mortars, I’m assuming it’s probably a good idea to cover them. Anyone have any good tips on what to use?

nayslayer
05-23-2018, 11:02 AM
This is my first year with them as well. I'm not sure if anything is needed if weather is ok.

Mattp
05-23-2018, 11:38 AM
Ive never done this myself.. i just put them on the ground.. i also have a cheaper import system.. . i know they sell nice "pelican case" they are costly.. but will protect against pretty much anything.. but i always thought a cheap Weatherproof alternative would be tupperware containers with a hole just for the wires to go through.. will at least keep them dry.. i think people cover them with plywood too

MtnViewPyro
05-23-2018, 01:45 PM
Someone on here has a picture of how they cover them and it’s a really good idea. Hopefully, they jump on. I use the cheap import as well. This year I’m going to zip tie them to pegboard. Get them off the ground, and if it starts to rain, easily cover them.

nayslayer
05-23-2018, 01:59 PM
Could probably just use a glad tupperware container with a slot, or hole for antenna. Use like birthday cake cover.

jbened02
05-23-2018, 02:37 PM
I’m not so much worried about rain as I am fallout from cakes and mortars going off nearby. Like others have mentioned there probably isn’t too much too worry about but just thought I would try to keep as much debris as possible off them. I may just build a simple 3-sided wooden box on each board for them to sit in - front would be open for wires.

Kenny East
05-23-2018, 02:56 PM
I've got many of my happiness modules in water proof tech boxes. The polycarbonate ones from wal*mart.
http://www.pyrotalk.com/bulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=3039&stc=1

Zippster
05-23-2018, 02:56 PM