PDA

View Full Version : Virginia Wholesale Order

Slider1342
05-18-2018, 08:31 PM
Greetings everyone. Just joined the forums. Every year I drive up from northern VA to Phantom in PA to purchase around $1000 worth of fireworks to bring down to my family retreat at Smith Mountain Lake in southern VA. I realize that consumer fireworks are not kosher in VA, but I've been doing it for 20 years and its gotten to the point where its tradition.

Has anyone had experience with ordering wholesale and having it shipped freight to a local truck distro in VA. It would save me tons of money and double the amount of items. I am concerned that having explosives shipped to a location here in VA might be subject to inspection or some other detail that would lead to them being confiscated. I am okay with the Risk, but I don't want the odds to be very high :) :o

I realize I could also rent a Uhaul and go pick them up, but it would end up costing =< the cost for freight shipping

Thank you,

Jay_
05-18-2018, 08:50 PM
I’m no expert, but I think that most wholesalers have an “excluded states list” that they will not ship to. If VA is on that list then I don’t think you will have any luck.

Someone may chime in or send a pm to the contrary however, so there may be hope.

Slider1342
05-18-2018, 09:01 PM
The state of Virginia is not on that list

Mattp
05-18-2018, 10:12 PM
Welcome to the forum!!! I dont know about a list.. but if fireworks are illegal in a state.. than i highly doubt any company will ship there.. i do believe you can have them shipped to a freight terminal in a nearby stat where they are legal..then pickem up there.. also you go to PA to go to phantom??? Not sure where you live in VA.. but there a good wholesal place in Maryland.. i know going to pick them up is part of the issue.. but if you go to a better wholesale place you cAn get way more bang for your buck than going to a 100% full retail place like phantom

jamisonlm3
05-19-2018, 12:03 AM