PDA

View Full Version : hello from missouri

hypothesis
06-05-2017, 07:18 PM
hello everyone this is only my second forum ever to join so i must have an interest here...lol. really I'm a big time reloader enjoy developing new loads for new calibers and testing them of course. I am a beginner as far as pyrotechnics go though. I have made tons of binary explosives(exploding targets) and 20 years ago I worked as a star maker and formula mixer at a local fireworks company. I feel I have established the respect for and safety that comes with this hobby with my past experiences and present hobbies. I'm a married father of 4 boys and electrician by trade. hello to everyone...sorry for the book

displayfireworks1
06-05-2017, 08:53 PM
Glad to have and thanks for description of yourself and your experience. We need more members with fireworks making experience.

hypothesis
06-05-2017, 09:07 PM
Not sure this is the best place to ask but what is the best way for me to learn as a beginner the safest way to make fireworks. Sure I could search Google for hours and hours,but just looking for someone to steer me in the right direction as far as correct knowledge and safety. Books? Videos? And when do i need to apply for some type of license to stay within the law?

PyroJoeNEPA
06-05-2017, 10:25 PM
Welcome to PyroTalk! Is there a pyro club in your area? If so, I would recommend you search them out & find out what they are geared towards. Some clubs are "drop it & light it" and others are structured towards building shells, rocket motors, etc. I belong to two clubs here in PA--one of each!
If you can connect with a club with builders, seek out someone to mentor you. There is a LOT more to making fireworks than people imagine.