View Full Version : Question about propane flame projectors

maverick
03-30-2017, 01:26 AM
Hey everyone, new here. I’m a sound and lighting engineer and I’ve always loved fireworks and other pyro effects, especially when used at concerts. For a while now I’ve been researching those propane powered flame projectors (sometimes called dragons / dragon heads) that you see used at almost every big rock show these days.(see attached picture)http://www.pyrotalk.com/bulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=2031&stc=1 I’m aware of the dangers, regulations, storage and transportation laws and clearance requirements surrounding these devices and their propane tanks. I also know most places require a permit and inspection by a local fire marshal to use these for a concert. I’ve witnessed a few of these inspections at shows I’ve worked or attended.

My question is; would the use of these things for concerts require any sort of ATF license? Obviously they wouldn’t be considered fireworks or explosives, but could they fall under “Articles Pyrotechnic”? The ATF website states they take into account the intended use of the product, and seeing as it would be used for a public pyrotechnic display I could understand how it may fall into that category. Every concert pyrotech I’ve met has an ATF license, but they also work with gerbs, mines, airbursts etc.