PDA

View Full Version : Howdy from Texas

Redfish
02-09-2017, 01:41 PM
just got on board hoping to get a better understanding of how to obtain my Pryo operator license in the state of Texas. Ive been shooting my own displays for many years now strictly for my family and friends enjoyment. the last 6-8 years the number people that come see the display has grown immensely. For many years now Ive thought about getting my license but never really new how or where to start. The Texas department of Insurance site says what is needed but no real info on how to move forward as in: 1. Do I just make calls to current Pyro companies to get in on getting my required signoffs or is there a different method? 2. Are there any classes/training available to prepare for the exam? ......... plus a few other questions associated with that.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Lastly, I hope I didn't break a rule by asking these questions on this welcome thread. if I did, I will prepost where ever I need to.

fatcat
02-09-2017, 01:48 PM
Welcome to the forum. Sorry i can't answer any of your questions, I'm sure some of the other guys and gals will jump in and give you some info. What part of Texas do you call home? Once again Welcome to pyrotalk

Redfish
02-09-2017, 01:56 PM
Im down in deep south Texas in an area known as the Rio Grande Valley. looking forward to learning new things and a few tips here and there.

displayfireworks1
02-09-2017, 02:23 PM
Redfish, How close do you live to Lewisville Tx and are you free March 18, 2017 ?

Rick_In_Tampa
02-09-2017, 04:45 PM
Welcome aboard Redfish! Glad to see another amateur pyro on the boards. I'm sure Dave can get you all the info you need to get your ATF 54!

Redfish
02-09-2017, 04:46 PM
only 9 hours south. LOL Texas is a big state!! I saw a training up there that date, but im booked that day. :-( may try to make it to the one in Louisiana.

PyroManiacs
02-09-2017, 05:14 PM
Welcome Redfish!

PyroJoeNEPA
02-09-2017, 06:08 PM