PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Alpharetta Georgia

Hydrazine
10-04-2016, 10:50 PM
Hi Everyone,

As a life long pyro enthusiast I think its about time to step up the game to getting licensed and digging into the science.
My background is in rocket science solid propellant technology at Dynamic Propellant Technology, liquid mono and bi-propellant rocket propulsion at Kaiser Marquardt and then liquid bi-propellant rocket propulsion at Boeing.

I love fireworks and the science of fire, pressure, fluid dynamics and energetic chemistry. I can't help it, it's been part of me since the age of ~8 years old.

I would like to apply for a 1.3 license and even a manufacturing permit if it's feasible for my area. I'm in the legal research mode now and making contacts. If you know of any suggestions for licensing in the Alpharetta Georgia area please let me know.

If there are attorneys in North Georgia area that know how to navigate the licensing and compliance laws, please drop a name or phone number. ;)

Thank you,
Tony

chriskrc
10-05-2016, 06:52 AM
Welcome to the forum

Wholesale Fireworks
10-05-2016, 11:08 AM
Tony
Welcome to the forums. I would start by ordering Dave's DVD package to help you get started with the licensing process. He has pointed countless enthusiasts down the right path to step up their game.

displayfireworks1
10-05-2016, 12:39 PM
Start with the Federal ATF User of Display Fireworks license and go from there. You really do not need a manufacturing license to make fireworks for your own use and not in commerce. Of course if you want to make fireworks you need to consider some form of storage. The state of Georgia may or may not regulate explosive storage. If you ask questions at the state level ask about explosive storage not manufacturing. I would suggest to become license to purchase 1.3 fireworks and shoot them. It will satisfy some of that pyro urge you are experiencing.
My ATF DVD/application package explains the process.