PDA

View Full Version : Mortar tube diameter

kmosmen
06-22-2016, 08:19 AM
So this is my first year shooting 1.3 fireworks.

I just purchased a quantity of 3 inch and 4 inch diameter HDPE tubes. They arrived yesterday and my concern is that their internal dimensions are 3/16 of an inch narrower than their listed diameter. Is this going to be a problem?

Thanks!

kmosmen
06-22-2016, 10:50 AM
Anyone? I would love advice before I start building my racks!!!

PLEASE?! :)

Thank you

Dmkaz
06-22-2016, 11:22 AM
So this is my first year shooting 1.3 fireworks.

I just purchased a quantity of 3 inch and 4 inch diameter HDPE tubes. They arrived yesterday and my concern is that their internal dimensions are 3/16 of an inch narrower than their listed diameter. Is this going to be a problem?

Thanks!

With HDPE, there's no such thing as a '3" and 4" tube'. You should be shooting 3" out of DR17 which has an ID of 3.03" and 4" out of DR21 which has an ID of 4.0". If the size is off by a marginal amount, you should be fine. The size shells you're going to get fluctuate in size a bit anyway.

kmosmen
06-22-2016, 11:40 AM
Thanks Dmkaz.

The tubes were advertised as such but upon receipt, I measured them and they were as listed. There is obviously some variation and tolerances in manufacturing and maybe some distortion from storage but more than one tube measured 3/16th" less than 3" and 4"....not the 3.03" or 4" of the DR17 and DR21 respectively. This is my concern. However, not knowing the details of these tubes and how they are sold commercially before being cut.....I guess that as long as they ARE DR17 and DR21 tubes to begin with, I should be okay. My other concern is that when asking of the outside diameter, I was told something different as well. The seller said that they were 3.6" and 4.6" when I measure them much less.

Thanks again!

Dmkaz
06-22-2016, 11:52 AM
Thanks Dmkaz.