PDA

View Full Version : Questions

Bobby821
06-16-2016, 12:11 PM
I live in the state of Oklahoma and I have been thinking about getting my fireworks license from ATF. The state laws here seem cofusing to me when I read them on the state fire marshals website. Would I be able to get an ATF license to buy and posess 1.3G fireworks without going through all the licenseing requirements with the state or would I have to do both?

My second question is would having just an ATF license allow me to transport and store my personal 1.4G fireworks?
I live in a county that technically prohibits the possession and discharge of fireworks in the city limits, would having an ATF license make it legal for me to store and poses 1.4G fireworks in small quantity at my home?

Any advice would be appreciated as I continue to gain more information and knowledge on this topic.

Rick_In_Tampa
06-17-2016, 12:24 AM
Bobby - I'm no lawyer, but here's my take. I live in Florida where fireworks are illegal (unless you use them to scare birds off your farm or away from your fish pond). That said, half of the population in this state shoot fireworks off on the 4th! I do every year. This year I had 2 pallets of fireworks arrive in a UPS semi-truck from a company in Ohio. I don't have an ATF 54 or any other type of license. I store them in my garage and I build my display boards in my garage. There are also plenty of fireworks stores here in Florida and fireworks tent stores on virtually every corner this time of year. You don't need an ATF license to buy or transport anything from any of them.