PDA

View Full Version : ohio type 54 contingency storage.

Npntransistor
03-04-2016, 11:35 AM
Ok so I've been beating my head up against ohio fireworks laws.
Contingency storage to satisfy the type 54 requirements is intended to be accessible enough so that in the event a problem arises the fireworks could be stored in a reasonable amount of time. I do not understand where relevant distance to storage from my home address matters. For instance if I shoot in pa and my storage is in pa but I'm an ohio resident.

Next thing I ran across in Ohio Revised Code
3743.45 Purchase of 1.4G fireworks from licensed manufacturer or wholesaler.

(B)*No licensed manufacturer or licensed wholesaler shall sell 1.3 G fireworks to a person who resides in this state unless that person is a licensed manufacturer, licensed wholesaler, or licensed exhibitor of fireworks in this state.

Amended by 131st General Assembly File No. TBD, HB 64, §101.01, eff. 9/29/2015.

So regardless if I had a type 54 I can't even purchase product within the state anyway.

Bazerk
03-04-2016, 11:52 AM
Not sure on the state law but the distance of the storage magazine to the location of the "business" is what matters. If you applied for the license in PA and used a PA address as the business address on your application then it would work. However, if your putting you residence in Ohio as the primary address of the business than that would exceed a "reasonable driving distance" and thus wont work for contingency. They dont care where you are shooting the product. They dont want you buying in one state and then crossing the country and have no place to store it when you get there even if thats not what you are doing. There is no way for them to be sure that just because your buying in PA that your going to shoot in PA ya know?

djsmurf
03-04-2016, 11:55 AM