PDA

View Full Version : Timing of cakes

Ornery Cuss
02-17-2016, 12:51 AM
Hey all, I am an amateur that puts on shows for a large family get-together each July. Each year gets a little bigger and more intense. Last year was my first wireless show. This year I am planning to use the Pyro Ignition Control software. I am trying to get more precise in my timing, not anywhere near a pyromusical, but at least trying to time rack and cake endings with song endings. I have watched several videos of the same cake done by different people online, and noticed significant differences in the length of these cakes. For example, Saturday Night Special by Brothers seems to run anywhere from 47 to 56 seconds. Is this usual? Do they really vary that much out of the same factory? Or are other factors involved that I am not aware of, like moisture content, age of the firework, etc. Please enlighten me with your years of wisdom that I might know better how to plan. It is difficult to time a show if you don't know how long a cake will run!

Thanks in advance!

displayfireworks1
02-17-2016, 10:41 AM
My experience is Consumer Fireworks lack that type of consistency. How are you fusing your cakes , in other words when the wire makes it to the product tell me what you do between that wire and the fireworks item?

Northern Sky
02-17-2016, 11:17 AM
Welcome to the forum.

The most consistent part of fireworks is their inconsistency. Lol

What I have found useful is to fuse cakes backwards so the finale fires first, if they have finales. The most noticeable part of cakes is the first and last shot. I'd rather three or four shots in the beginning be timed closely vs individual shots.

PyroJoeNEPA
02-17-2016, 04:50 PM
The most consistent part of fireworks is their inconsistency.

This is, undoubtedly, the most accurate statement anyone can make!!! There are so many variables with 1.4g product--different batches, quality of fuse, poor assembly. etc.