PDA

View Full Version : another i-match?

Playingwithfire85
12-29-2014, 10:25 AM
I figured it wouldn't be long until china had come up with their own i-match but I am thinking this one might be questionable. I found electric matches being sold on Amazon and after a little research it appears as though they are made by Happiness Firing System in China. I can not find any documentation or restrictions on there so its possible this guy might be selling and shipping them illegally?

http://www.amazon.com/Electric-Igniter-Fireworks-Pyrotechnics-Survival/dp/B00HIDB1QY

tarkus4
12-29-2014, 10:38 AM
I think if they were illegal Amazon would have caught it by now. They are also sold on ebay by a couple of vendors in China. I have been using them for a few years and have never had a bad one. By the way they are cheaper on ebay.

Playingwithfire85
12-29-2014, 10:45 AM
i figured there was a possibility it was only a "new" product to me. :) I was not planning on purchasing any as my stock if full but I was curious because there is no documentation on these.

PGH_Pyro
12-29-2014, 01:24 PM
ahhh great find. added to my wish-list .

xRay
01-05-2015, 11:10 PM
The match sold through eBay and Amazon is sometimes just the blanks with no pyrogen that you will have to dip but most of the time it is regular cheap e-match and as such it is controlled by BATFE as an “igniter”. Whether it is legal or not to buy/import and/or possess, it still must be stored in a type 4 or better magazine legally. This stuff never comes in correctly identified on the Customs forms. It is most often shipped as “electronics” or “gift” which means it is passing through Customs illegally. It is often the rejects from the legit e-match dealers over there. It is also not legal to mail through the regular mail unless it is just the blanks.