PDA

View Full Version : whats a good camcorder for fireworks

martymower
03-08-2014, 06:44 PM
Any thoughts on a 200 dollar or so camcorder for consumer fireworks filming?
I have zero experience so I need simple.

PGH_Pyro
03-08-2014, 11:26 PM
youd have to spend more than that to get really good H.D. results

PyroManiacs
03-09-2014, 09:12 AM
Sony PMW-EX3.

THE BEST!

PGH_Pyro
03-09-2014, 12:12 PM
4K with a good lens if you can afford it ! :) (then you're into $5-10,000 )

cduesman
03-09-2014, 03:41 PM
If you're looking for "good" and ~$200. You can watch for the Canon VIXIA HF R400 HD Flash Memory Camcorder to go on sale.
I picked one bundled with a "SanDisk Ultra 32GB Secure Digital High Capacity SDHC UHSI Class 10 Memory Card" for $184 before the Holidays as Best Buy. It appears to be closer to $300 now, but if your patient I suspect you'll find it closer to $200. It's usually a better deal to buy one that uses Flash memory cards (rather than built in memory) as Flash memory cards prices tend to be coming down and go on sale.

It has a fireworks mode, that looks pretty good. It like the other Canon fireworks modes are a little on the dark side.

I have an older Canon HF200. It costs a bit more back when I got it. The wind blew it over and damaged it. It still works mostly, but has some issues transferring the data back to the computer sometimes.
I bought the newer cheaper R400 to replace/backup the HF200. I have some video where I pan between the 2 cameras and they appear fairly comparable.

I think the R400 might pick up more wind noise than the HF200. A lot of the cheaper cameras pick up wind noise easily as they don't have the foam mics. (You can use external mics if you wanted to correct this.) It appears the R400 does have audio controls to manaul adjust the mic volume levels, but I haven't played with that yet.