PDA

View Full Version : How would you deal with this?

Playingwithfire85
12-23-2013, 01:05 AM
We seem to be having some trouble here locally in Michigan. I have talked to several people locally who have stated that cops are telling them to stop lighting fireworks off even if they are lighting them off on legal days and legal hours claiming people have called and made complaints. I have checked local ordinances and state laws and both state that fireworks are not to be limited during specific times and dates. I am just curious if they do give out a fine for lighting them would it stand up in court? Or simply should I just keep a copy of the ordinances and laws on hand for the officer to update his knowledge?

mguerra
12-23-2013, 01:58 AM
I'm not a lawyer, nor a police officer. It's possible that there may be ordinances regarding noise or disturbing the peace that might apply, even if there are not firework specific ordinances in play.

Playingwithfire85
12-23-2013, 02:10 AM
The noise ordinance in my area states no noise after 10 PM on normal days and 11 PM on nine federal holidays and new years is 1 AM.

displayfireworks1
12-23-2013, 09:49 AM