PDA

View Full Version : what are everyone's plans for the open shoot?

TitaniumsalTDI
03-23-2012, 11:22 AM
i am going to be attending the open shoot on the 19th, i cannot make it to the shooters cert class, as i have a prior obligation. Can anyone tell me how it goes, i've never done it before? also what do you guys fire with? i plan on bringing my new firing system to retest it out, and i'm currently thinking of a budget on what i'd like to spend because i'm going to take advantage of the 1.4 50% off sale as well.

J's12talk
03-23-2012, 11:24 PM
Order your 1.3g a couple days in advance or sooner. Bring your own mortars and the open shoot will start either at 5 or 6 o'clock. 1.4g shoots up front, 1.3g shoots in back. Sign in with the PPA personal on site. Bring safety goggles and if your shooting 1.3g bring a hard hat as well. 1.3g should be half off piece price as well as 1.4g. Contact them in advance if you have a type54 permit, they will want a copy sent along with a driver license and a sign copy of another form that you need to do annually.Copies of state licenses and state shooter certification should be sent as well if applicable.

coachtimmyj
03-24-2012, 06:46 AM
Copies of state licenses and state shooter certification should be sent as well if applicable.

This part seems a bit odd to me, they require you to show a state license/certification in order to purchase? Never heard of that before since the state licensing has nothing to do with purchasing, only shooting in said state. Maybe I'm misunderstanding what you're saying. Are you meaning for instance, since I live in MD, I would have to bring my state certification card with me in order to purchase?

jknepp1954
03-24-2012, 10:37 PM
I have not kept up with the 1.3 laws too much in the past 5 years = but for 1.3g purchase only 1.3 lic needed of some type...and drivers license. And i try to keep up with these things "just in case..."