PDA

View Full Version : Flash Powder - Different oxidizers & metals

FireworkExtrem
02-16-2012, 12:11 PM
Hey Guys,
First of all I would like to thank you all for this awesome forum. I really hope I get to use some more of my time here. Especially thanks to Dave, who helped me sign up ;)
Secondly I want to present myself, my name is Mikhail I'm 21 years old and live in the Czech Republic. Fireworks is and always will be, my passion and hobby.
I usually film my projects (mostly commercial fireworks) and upload the video onto YouTube. So needless to say, filming is also a great hobby to me.

Alright, back to topic.
I'm just getting into making my own compositions. I already have some experience in making Flash Powder, (the usual 70/30 KClO4 & GD Aluminum). But would like to extend my knowledge, and start making different sorts of flash powder. As mentioned above I already have made the standard 70/30 mixture with KClO4 & German Dark. But since I'm beginning to run low on Potassium Perchlorate, I am thinking about making a potassium nitrate based flash, using Magnesium. I am really trying to figure out how to get the best flash powder, from using potassium nitrate and magnesium? Any input is welcome!

Now, before I get started I want to hear other people's experiences with different kinds of Flash Powder. I need to know a lot about ratio, sensitivity and general experiences with these compositions. I would love to be able to try some of that blue aluminum, but it is near impossible to get in Europe.

These are the compositions that I am already familiar with:
KClO4 & German Dark - 70/30% ( I prefer 64/36% )
KClO4 & Magnesium - 70/30% ( I prefer 64/36% )

If anyone feels like sharing some other sort of great flash powder composition, these are the oxidizers & metals, that are available to me at present time:
KClO3
SrNO3
BaNO3
NaNO3
KNO3
KClO4
Sulphur
63micron MgAl
200micron MgAl
63micron Mg
Atomized Al 400 mesh
German black 000

Kind regards,
Mikhail - FireworkExtrem