PDA

View Full Version : MJG initiators to visco

shonuff
08-23-2019, 12:30 PM
My apologies in advance if I am posting this is in the wrong forum. Since it relates to MJG initiators (which are generally used with Cobra systems), I thought this might be the right place.

Some hobbyist friends and I are putting on a *large* class C show in the near future. As in the past, we plan to use a cobra system and a mix of talons and initiators to fire the show.

I have a lot of experience with talons, but limited experience with the initiators. When I have used the initiators, I have either poked the product and put the initiator in the lift, or used one of the plastic "visco to initiator" connectors that MJG sells.

Unfortunately, we are in the position of not having time to poke the product, and not having enough (i.e., any) of the visco to initiator connectors. We will also not be able to obtain those connectors prior to the show.

So - question - is there a reliable way to connect an MJG initiator to visco without the plastic connector? I'm probably overthinking this and its just a matter of taping the initiator to the visco, but I would like to hear from someone who has done that in the past - and particularly to hear that the product can be fused in that manner and reliably fire.

Thanks in advance.

esgrillo
08-23-2019, 12:39 PM
My apologies in advance if I am posting this is in the wrong forum. Since it relates to MJG initiators (which are generally used with Cobra systems), I thought this might be the right place.

Some hobbyist friends and I are putting on a *large* class C show in the near future. As in the past, we plan to use a cobra system and a mix of talons and initiators to fire the show.

I have a lot of experience with talons, but limited experience with the initiators. When I have used the initiators, I have either poked the product and put the initiator in the lift, or used one of the plastic "visco to initiator" connectors that MJG sells.