PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Cobra User

Drewman91
06-01-2019, 06:30 PM
Hi All,

I am new to electronic firing and have decided to go with a cobra firing system, I have decided on an 18R2 and two 18M's to start. My question is I typically only shoot once a year and am wondering if the 9V batteries are enough juice to power a 10-15 min show or if the lipo is actually needed for the 18M's?

joed2323
06-01-2019, 08:32 PM
Absolutely, 9volts are plenty

You only have 18 cues per module

You could probably run 6-8 matches in series per cue and have plenty of juice.

All I use is 9volts and I normally shoot 18 min shows. This year 22.5 minute with no worries

You chose a great system

I must warn you of this though, it is very addicting getting into cobra. You can never have enough lol

displayfireworks1
06-01-2019, 09:18 PM
Advancing fireworks enthusiast moving into the Cobra wireless system are always welcome. There is good collection of expert users here on pyrotalk. For a big new show I like to start with new high quality batteries like Energizer or Duracell. Do not get too obsessed with that number that displays indicating battery strength. It will seem like you just put new batteries in and the number dropped a point or two. Although the remote makes a little nervous sometime with all the bright indicator lights and better usage. What are you using between the module and the product. I'm try to not the word to see what you have ?

esgrillo
06-02-2019, 11:14 PM
You can run shows way longer than than on a 9v. I started with exactly what you are getting and it served me well and continues to do so. Just replace the batteries before your show.

Pretty soon you'll get the bug and have a growing pile of modules like the rest of us.

Rick_In_Tampa
06-03-2019, 02:42 AM
Firewire initiators take a ridiculously small amount of juice to fire, so yeah, you'll be fine if you use new batteries and max out each cue.