PDA

View Full Version : Firework Insurance

Shootingstar_pyro86
08-30-2014, 01:19 PM
Ok so I have been doing firework for a while now ( 7 years) but never had to deal with the insurance part of it. How does it work? Do you just pay like regular car or home insurance? Or is it per show?

Thanks

Tommy

MIpyro
09-01-2014, 10:49 PM
Ok so I have been doing firework for a while now ( 7 years) but never had to deal with the insurance part of it. How does it work? Do you just pay like regular car or home insurance? Or is it per show?

Thanks

Tommy

It is pretty pricey.. depending on the township you are applying for the permit to, they might require a million dollar policy that runs around $3500 for the year or a $5 million policy which runs around $10k for the year. That's why most people stick with just 1.4 and shoot a little 1.3 in the midst of it if you want a little boom but not go crazy where you draw attention to yourself. Being that most shoot on major holidays or mostly the 4th, you wont get bothered unless the people around you are those old geezers that throw a fit every time a firecracker goes off and call the authorities. But if you are wanting to do a full fledged show, get ready to fork over your children and childrens children, blood samples and life savings, lol! It's not cheap.

mguerra
09-02-2014, 02:19 PM
$1800.00 per show is the best price I could find per show. Or $3,500 to $5,000 per year. There was a guy on this board scamming people in to paying $865.00 per year for a group policy, I got burned on that deal. For now, my 1.3 G supplier is designating me as a shooter for his display company when I want to shoot a show. He charges a fee for the insurance based on the price of the product I buy from him. This works well.

MIpyro
09-03-2014, 09:55 AM