PDA

View Full Version : Programming remotes

wizard7611
03-07-2014, 03:45 PM
I just had a quick question about consumer firing systems. Can I program a Rfremotech 12 button transmitter to a QuantumFire firing system? -Just curious ;)

wizard7611
03-09-2014, 11:55 AM
Solved. Sorry for posting this. I've never tried to program a remote before. The reason being is because I always use the remote the kit comes with.

displayfireworks1
03-09-2014, 08:11 PM
My experience is you program the module that receives the signal as opposed to the remote.

wizard7611
03-11-2014, 05:45 PM
hmmm... ok makes sense. So basically you can program any remote that receives a signal.

PyroJoeNEPA
03-11-2014, 06:28 PM
hmmm... ok makes sense. So basically you can program any remote that receives a signal.
Let's clear up some "word usage" terminology: The unit you hold in your hand--or have at your shooting station is a Transmitter--it sends a radio signal to the modules your igniters hook up to--they are receivers..1 transmitter, many Receivers. You program the receiver to the signal from the transmitter.
One thing to be aware of: you can not use any transmitter with any receiver! There are two different frequency bands that are currently being used [FCC Approved devices] which is 315Mhz & 433Mhz. So, if you have a 315Mhz transmitter, it will not "talk to" or allow you to program 433Mhz remotes to it. They must be the same frequency.
Quantumfire has 315 & 433 Hhz units--RFRemotetech is 433Mhz, Superbfire is 433Mhz, Sequencefire is 315Mhz....you really need to research the specifications of items you might want to "mix & match".
Also, there are "eChina" non-FCC approved firing systems out there that are not very good in their tolerances as far as being on the correct frequency & being stable at that frequency.
I hope this clears things up a bit--"remote" is a general term & needed a little clarification.