PDA

View Full Version : using magnesium in making flash powder

washoezepher
09-18-2013, 08:18 PM
can someone tell me what to use with magnesium powder (mix ratio) for small salutes? I have a pound of atomized magnesium powder 325 mesh and would like to experiment with it for making small salutes but not really sure what other chemical to mix with it to do this, I am new at this and could use a tip or fifty (LOL) on what is the best chemical to use with the magnesium to get the best bang for my buck so to speak, thanks ahead to anyone that can help me out here, thanks washoezepher

chris v
09-19-2013, 05:07 AM
As everyone on this site will tell you is that you should never make flash as a beginner . Respect is need with any pyro comp and flash demands it all you hardly find pyro makers use mag for their salutes for the fact that it reacts with water so stop where you are and get dark pyro aluminum but you can make salutes with mag but I won't say unless Dave says its ok and its not like regular salute formula

displayfireworks1
09-19-2013, 09:31 AM
There are no restrictions on this forum to talk about making fireworks including salutes. It would be prudent to also explain the proper precautions. Just because someone wants to talk about making something, does not mean they necessarily want to build anything. If someone wanted to build a salute would they be safer if they knew the pro’s and cons of multiple formula or if they went out on their own because no one told them anything. Of course, if we suspect someone is making salutes and selling them around the neighborhood, we do not want to be a part of that. We also should not be leading someone into danger with multiple communications and instructions. Use your judgment if you are suspicious of someone’s intent do not be a part of it, my experience thus far is most of these questions are curiosity seekers.