PDA

View Full Version : Blue Aluminum Break Charge?

displayfireworks1
10-04-2012, 07:40 PM
Here is an interesting question I received from Norway on my youtube channel. The writer apparently translated the message so forgive the spelling errors. I am not an expert on building fireworks but my experience has been flash type compositions are not the best to use for break charges. The question is in regard to Blue Aluminum. If you are new to my videos, I will include my video on Blue Aluminum. This new Aluminum is marketed as an alternative to traditional flash aluminums. The chief marketing feature of Blue Aluminum is it safety. If anyone has experience this new aluminum perhaps they can comment. My initial thoughts on this are to enhance a traditional break charge with flash aluminum rather than replace it.
Hi.

I am a 43 years old "pyrotechnian" man from Norway.

I bay my chemicals from Nitroparis in Spain, and my plastic shell halfs from
Plasticos gamon in Spain.

I have a couple of thousends plastic ball shell left.

Last year I have a bid acident with using flash powder as breaking charge in my plastic shells, and
I was in hospital for 2 months......so because of this I have stop using flash powder (aluminium and perchlorate)

So my question is :

How is it to mix Blue aluminium and potassium perchlorate, and use it for bursting charge in plastic shells ?

Will I have the same result as dark aluminium / potassium perchlorate ?

How safe / unsafe is using blue aluminium instead of dark aluminium compare to black powder bursting charge ?

regards

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbjbwzGIsaA